PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning/White vinegar question

Bucket Head
03-31-2008, 09:31 PM
Question. Is all white vinegar, sold in store's, reduced to "5% acidity"? I tried some this weekend and all I seemed to do was waste a gallon of vinegar.

What's the real story here? Are you using non-reduced vinegar? Is there such a thing?

What is the pan cleaner acid? That's what I normally use and that stuff does the trick. What is the acidity of that? Where else can you get that other than from Leader?

Steve

sweetwoodmaple
04-01-2008, 05:50 AM
Had the same issues with vinegar. Everyone here touts using it, but I could never get it to work.

As I've posted before, I now use Milkstone remover. You can buy it from dairy supply or TSC. It's only 7 dollars per gallon.

I think the secret with any of these cleaners is getting the water/acid above 140 degrees.

Father & Son
04-01-2008, 06:35 AM
Brain,

How many gallons does it take to clean your rig? This is my first year with stainless so this type of cleaning is new.

Jim

maplwrks
04-01-2008, 06:40 AM
I Use Milk Stone Remover Also---I Use The Strongest Acid They Make. It Does Help To Warm It Up A Little Also.

matrob
04-01-2008, 07:03 AM
I just tried a product made by Delaval called sheen easy. It is a strong acid. It really worked, even when cold. I would try it warm next time. I used it straight, as the dealer recommended, then rinsed several times.

Matt

markct
04-01-2008, 07:51 PM
so how do ya use this milkstone stuff, just put it in the pan with water and let it sit, then dump out and rinse?

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
04-01-2008, 08:48 PM
I use apple cider vinegar in my pan , never tried white

RICH

Bucket Head
04-01-2008, 09:36 PM
So "Milkstone Remover" is an acid?

Is it stronger than the Leader pan cleaner acid?

What exactly is milkstone? Does milk leave behind a buildup of deposit's like maple?

Steve

Dave Puhl
04-01-2008, 10:41 PM