PDA

View Full Version : Why does new tap hole run faster?

johnallin
03-31-2008, 07:51 PM
Just for the heck of it. I placed a second tap on one of our larger sugar maples. Tree is about 30" in dia. This tap is on the north side of the tree, the tap placed 3 weeks ago is on the south west side.

Do any of you know why the new tap is running like crazy at about 2 drops per second, while the earlier tap is maybe one drop every second or two? This was last Saturday and even today the new tap has out performed all of the others, including the "sister" on the same tree.

I'm pretty new at this and wondering if I re-drilled my tap holes would I expect to see the same? I think I read that the holes close up.

Thanks for any info you can share.

john allin

tapper
03-31-2008, 08:33 PM
Bacteria grow in the tap holes and after a time will slow and even stop the sap flow but, had you tapped both holes at the same time there may have been some difference anyhow. Sometimes a lot of difference it just depends on the tree. Tap holes have their own personality and a lot of times perform differently at different times of the season.

barrelstove
04-01-2008, 07:47 AM
youre lucky you got sap on the north side of the tree. i have several tapped trees along side a major road that run north and south. so to keep snow and slop from the road getting in my buckets i tapped the north and south sides of the trees( so the open end of the bucket lid wasnt pointed at the road). the south sides give very well and the north sides hardly do anything! its frustrating. im tinkering on ideas to tap the east and west sides next year, probably a short peice of tubing tapped on the road side running to a bucket on the side away from the road.

johnallin
04-01-2008, 05:35 PM
How about tapping the south (or any) side and running a line(s) down around the tree to a bucket sitting on the ground, with a fittings for the line? Should keep everything out.

barrelstove
04-01-2008, 08:08 PM