PDA

View Full Version : Sap Puller verse vacuum

white mt
03-31-2008, 05:10 PM
I would like to know if any one out their has one of these sap pullers? I would like to get myself started with vacuum or the puller for next year. I know little about both other than the price to set up vacuum for 800+taps is alot more than a new sap puller. So whats the big draw back with the puller verse say setting up my system with vacuum ? I dont want to redo my whole setup in the bush its only 3 years old. And the way I understand it I should size the maine line right along with a long list of redos in order to have the cfm right at the tap hole. Or do I bite the bullet and redo the woods and spend the money for the vacuum set up. Is vac that much better than a sap puller that works alone. A new puller is $ 1800 from goodrich maple in cabot vt. Thanks Dan

tuckermtn
03-31-2008, 06:25 PM
I'm no expert, but I have run both a sap sucker and a small more conventional vac system on the same bush- small set up, only 100+/- taps. I would think with an 800 tap bush you would not be able to run it on a sap sucker type system as the ammount of vac and CFM would not be able to do that many taps.

What is your tubing set- up like currently? size of mainline, length of mainline, how much pitch do you have? Average # of taps per lateral? If the existing tubing set up is done reasonibly well, then you may not have to frig with it much. You may be able to just run a piston type vacuum pump (like a surge SP-22) and then get a releaser- the releaser is where the $$ is.