PDA

View Full Version : Tapped in Dover, NH

redbuc1
03-20-2008, 06:04 PM
Hi, I actually have been tapped since middle of Feb. I probably have about 30 taps out mostly on buckets. I am just getting into it. A friend gave me a home made arch with a 2x4 pan. I have the sapping bug now and really enjoy it!. I made 9 quarts and 2 pints last weekend. Sap has been a little slow this week I have about 55 gals. collected so far. I was hoping to get at least 100 gals. by the weekend so I can boil both days, but I don't know if the weather will cooperate. I hope so. Well have fun boiling!!!

Amber Gold
03-21-2008, 11:37 AM
Glad to see there's someone else in the Seacoast. Yeah it's been a slow week and have only collected about 20 gallons. I tapped on February 29th and have processed about 79 gallons into just shy of 2 gallons of syrup and have another 20 gallons ready for tomorrow.

Good luck

redbuc1
03-21-2008, 05:24 PM
Hi, Yeah it is good to see that there is someone else nearby also sugaring. Well I gathered only about 7 gallons last night. I hope it will be running this weekend. I have enough to boil saturday and hopefully it will run enough so I can collect some saturday night and boil sunday too!. Well good luck!

Amber Gold
03-24-2008, 07:04 PM
I ended up boiling 22 gallons on Saturday to 1/2 gallon of syrup. I've managed to collect about 8 gallons of sap since, which isn't bad considering 2 of my 4 taps have been dry. Not sure what happened. Hopefully they pick back up. It looks like it's going warm up a bit this week and not get so cold at night. Hopefully it helps.

Dill
04-01-2008, 08:16 AM