PDA

View Full Version : Hydrometer - Hot/Cold lines

katmike
03-15-2008, 09:38 AM
I've been making small batches for several years now and I always seemed to clog up the prefilters quicky - I may have discoverd the problem. When I finished, I dipped the hydrometer into the boil and took a reading using the "hot test" line (marked 211 degrees). I never really understood why they pick 211 for this test since syrup boils a a higher temp. Anyway, the other day I thought I'd test the "cold" test since I kept a finished batch in my basement at 60 degrees. When I measured with the same hydrometer (I have two and they both measure the same), the reading indicated it was almost 4 brix on the heavy side.

I assume "heavy" syrup is naturally harder to filter, correct?

Should I shoot for 4 brix lighter syrup than the "hot" test line indicates to get the correct density form now on?

tuckermtn
03-15-2008, 10:42 AM
are you testing the syrup hot in a hyrometer cup or in the pan? I do my hot test with an accu-cup (mapleguys.com) which has the thermometer on/in it.

draw off into cup, swish it around to preheat cup, then dump back into canner- then draw off again, watch temp go down till around 213, then drop in hydrometer. read at 211.

I double check with the refrectometer, and I tend to be one+ brix heavy- but thats okay with me..

and yes, more dense syrup will clog filters more quickly. Key is to filter the syrup as hot as you can get it...we filter though a cone prefilter as it comes off the evap, then once more just as it is finished coming off the canner..

maple flats
03-15-2008, 07:52 PM