PDA

View Full Version : new 1/2 pint questions...

johnallin
03-11-2008, 08:22 PM
Hi all,

I'm also new here. This will be my third season and just finished setting up a new Leader 1/2 pint.

This is big for me... as my first year was "in the woods" hovering over some cinder blocks under a roasting pan, snapping wood over my knee. Last year was a small box stove with a 12" X 18" home made flat pan. I am not sure what to expect or look out for with the 1/2 pint. I've got loads of firewood ready, 20 sugar maples tapped with lots more here if I need more sap. Tapped Sunday and they are all running great and I plan on boiling later this week.

One question I have is how much should I expect to draw off and when, after I reach temp and how often after that. I have zero experience with anything other than flat pans and small ( to me ) sources of fire.

Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated. This is a great site and I just recently stumbled onto it.

Thanks for any help.
John Allin - N.E. Ohio

mapleman3
03-11-2008, 08:50 PM
I used to have a "half pint"and thats what it means.. about a half pint of syrup/hour drawoff.. which really isnt bad for a small evaporator.. now if you tweak it, add a blower to it(mine was through the front bottom I'm sure I have pics of it somewhere) and maybe set up a preheater of somesort and you may crank out the syrup !! it's a fun little rig, you will enjoy it a lot :)

skinny78
03-12-2008, 01:22 AM