PDA

View Full Version : Can you tap at any latitude?

Creuzy
03-05-2008, 07:54 AM
Hey guys -

This is my first year sugaring. I live in central Virginia. We only have reds around here, so I tapped 4 at the very end of January. Only 2 of those ever dripped a drop of sap. And by the end of maybe the second week of February I didn't get anymore from even those two. I tapped some other trees thinking that I just chose some losers, but, alas, even they provided nothing.

I finally gave up a couple days ago and pulled my taps. I boiled down my 3.5 gallons to my approximately 1 cup of syrup - it isn't much but it's more syrup than I've ever made in my life and it gives me hope for next year.

But, to my question - Is my problem that I just need to tap earlier? Or is there some latitude that below which you just can't get a good steady/long run?

My latitude is 37.5... Anyone tap lower than this?

Thanks,
Casey

maplehound
03-05-2008, 08:09 AM
Cruezy,
What is your weather like there? That will help determine when you should tap. I have tapped as early as Jan.11'th but that was too early for most years. This year I have just finished tapping and this is the lattest I have ever tapped. Every year is a little bit diffrent. You need that big temp. change to get the sap to flow. Cold nights (below 20 deg. is best) and warm days (over 40 deg is best) will make the sap run. Elevation will probaly make a diffrence as well since it stays colder at heigher altitudes, but I have never had to deal with that much. If you are still getting freezing nights I would put those taps back in, or at least go back and see if the sap is running down the tree on the next warm day.

gmcooper
03-05-2008, 09:03 AM
A few years back some guy named Jefferson tried to get into the syrup business in Mount Vernon. He failed. I think the weather just didn't work. Not the right combination of cold nights and warm days. He tried it before global warming had caught on.