PDA

View Full Version : Started on saturday

Sugarbear
02-26-2008, 06:00 AM
We started tapping on saturday and did some more on sunday.About half done now.They ran a little on the south side in the sunlight.My woods is mostly a north slope so it is slow to warm up.The weather report says 47 on sunday,I'll believe it when I see it.

newman_maple
02-26-2008, 04:13 PM
I think we are almost done in southern Ohio. I did collect 35 gallons today, but this will be my fifth week of boiling so I cannot see it running much longer. Last weekend's syrup turned out very light; almost like my first weekend. Perhaps the extreme cold snaps in midweek has extended my season. I hope to have a big weekend when temps should be high. We will see.

Good luck Sugarbear!

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-26-2008, 04:46 PM
Looks like another deep freeze coming the next couple of days. I wouldn't throw in the towel yet. Saturday will be four weeks for me on one bush that has 237 taps and I am just getting started. Weather looks good for a big run first of the week and your weather is likely similar to mine as you are not that far north.

Sugarbear
02-27-2008, 06:04 AM
They are saying 47 on sun and 48 on mon so maybe we will get thawed out.We got about 6 inches of new snow yesterday plus the ground is frozen underneath so we got a lot of thawing to do.

newman,you are not that much south of us,I cant believe it could be over for you yet.

newman_maple
02-27-2008, 06:28 AM
I hope you are correct that the season is not over. I would like to keep boiling for another couple weeks (at least). I do have a handful of trees at my parents place I can tap. That might be a project for a warmer day soon. Too cold today. Another day off school (I am a teacher) and not enough sap on hand to boil and too cold to get any real work done. :(

maplehound
02-27-2008, 07:28 AM