PDA

View Full Version : parts and definitions?

Mac_Muz
02-23-2008, 01:32 PM
I am new to these terms being a barrel stove guy and just having a few taps.

I don't know most terms, very common you everyone else, so could some of you define things like Dropped Flu, Raised Flu, and other terms related to parts and pieces?

Say what they do and what they look like maybe, and why one works better than the other depending on anything.

I didn't understand making maple syrup had it's own language.

jemsklein
02-23-2008, 01:51 PM
this is a dropped flue pan it has flues that go into the fire box there for increasing the sqft of your pan making it boil 3-6 times faster also 3-6 times more money

jemsklein
02-23-2008, 01:55 PM
raised flue is the same thing but instead of the flues dropping done in the fire box they go up in to the pan so the hot gases go up in side of the pan

Mac_Muz
02-23-2008, 02:10 PM
Does sap or hot air circulate in the tubing? If sap how do you get it out?

If smoke and hot air how do you keep the tubing from burning out?

VT maple maker
02-23-2008, 02:43 PM
Its not tubing. The "flues" are simply a piece of stainless bent for the accordian effect so to speak, they are placed in the pan and welded or soldered in. The reason for them is to give you that many more times the surface area vs just a flat bottom pan that only utilizes the bottom of the pans surface area. I dont think i have ever heard of stainless steel burning out. especially not with sap or liquid in the pan. Hot gases are passed through the flues from front to back and then up the smoke stack. The flues are open though. You can look right up into them. or down along them in the case of a drop flue.

jemsklein
02-23-2008, 02:45 PM
there is no tubbing in a drop flue or raised

Fred Henderson
02-23-2008, 02:54 PM