PDA

View Full Version : leaving tubing up year round

markct
02-22-2008, 07:50 PM
so im new to this whole thing, and had a few questions. when i bought my tubing i bought the blue "4 season" tubing from bascoms, i had assumed this meant it was ok to leave it up year round, which is great cause i doubt i would ever remember where all the tubes and taps went to which tree and realy dont have a good place to store a giant bundle of tubing. but now on here i have read a few posts where people talk about taking it down and storing it? so which is right? i remember seeing tons of tubing strung between trees on the road up to bascoms last fall so i assumed they left it up year round. mine is just attached to my trees in a few places with large fence staples lightly driven in so after a few years i may have to pull them out a little, but other than that i dont see it being a problem for the trees. i figured the purpose of the cups on the tees was to put the tap into and just leave it till next year.

Yorkholomaple
02-22-2008, 08:06 PM
Out of everyone i know there are only a few that take there tubing down and that is because its on rented sugar bushes. I leave mine up year round just pull the taps so the tree can heal and the tubing will stretch so you wont have any problems with it growing in the trees. The only thing i would worry about is where you have the staples. I pull everything tight so i dont have staples. Also squirrels and other critters might cause some problems they like chewing little holes here and there:)

gmcooper
02-22-2008, 08:07 PM