PDA

View Full Version : Bricking tips urgently needed!

ploefstedt
02-14-2008, 08:27 PM
Hi -

I am trying to brick my 2x6, and am about to start on the firebox. I could
see my way clear if it were a standard cube, but of course the back side
tapers upward (where it leads to the flue pan). Can someone describe
how to go about the bricking of the firebox, in a way an inexperienced
layman with no previous masonary experience could comprehend? I suppose
a picture would be worth a thousand words....

Thanks
Paul L.

ploefstedt
02-14-2008, 08:32 PM
Hi again -

I am also wondering if one should fit the bricks tight to the
top of the evaporator wall (and for that matter, tight
to the side walls as well), OR should some space be left?

Thanks -

Paul

RileySugarbush
02-14-2008, 09:40 PM
I'm no expert by any means, but I've done this once and it worked out. I lined the firebox with arch board, 1" thick, and then dry fit the brick. I was lucky and could find an arrangement that was a snug fit, with the archboard squeezing the bricks together and being squishy enough to take up any expansion from the temp. My firebox has a square back wall. It will be more trouble with a slope, but possible. I think the most traditional way of bricking is to use firebrick, rent a masonry saw and cut to fit, and then set them with refractory cement. I'll let others comment on that. As far as how high, if you brick up high enough so that the wood hit brick, the last few inches can be stuffed with ceramic blanket, right up to the rails. That goes for the area in the flue section too. No need for bricks there. Just make sure you don't have too big a space under the flues or the pan or you will be wasting heat.

ploefstedt
02-15-2008, 05:39 AM
Thanks John Bushey for the detailed feedback, and others for the
helpful hints. One more question - since so many have suggested the use
of archboard; can I buy this under another name at a heating supply