PDA

View Full Version : What to do with the hole in the tree when you are finished...

HAHA I 1
02-13-2008, 02:28 PM
OK, so if you recall, this is my first time tapping. Several folks have told me that when the sap is finished running, you just pull the taps and walk away. Still doesn't seem right - it seems like I should do something to the tree. At least a "Hey, I appreciate what you did for me this year, and I promise to poke another hole in you next year." But seriously, is there any treatment I should do to the tree after the taps come out?

peacemaker
02-13-2008, 02:37 PM
nope nature will take over and heal her up depending on her health and the size tap 2 to 3 years .i personally leave a little corn meal and thank her for all her sap but i am a bit different that way

maplehound
02-13-2008, 02:41 PM
Giving her a good pat and a Thank You is about all I do. Sometimes taking out competing undesiable trees crowding her would be a good gesture as well.

Brent
02-13-2008, 04:06 PM
I've read where many years ago folks tried plugging or treating the holes and they came to more grief than just saying "thank you, see you next year" and walk away.

PATheron
02-13-2008, 05:12 PM
Cut and dried on this one. Ive both plugged the holes and left them and plugging them is the worst thing you can do undisputable. Ive got some trees to prove it. It leaves like a splinter in the tree that never heals right. Like leaving a big splinter in your hand. Do them a favor and let them be when your done. Theeeron

Maplepro
02-13-2008, 07:45 PM
My Grandfather Pluged our tress one year and we still see the damage that it caused i would recomend just walking away

mfchef54
02-13-2008, 09:41 PM
having not tapped since 05 i will tell you that all the tap holes have filled them selves in quite nicely. I talk to my tree all the time. thanking them and giving a little pat. my son thinks i'm nuts.

802maple
02-14-2008, 05:35 AM
All I do is pull the hole out and throw it away,

jemsklein