PDA

View Full Version : Filter press question

MaplePancakeMan
02-12-2008, 11:07 PM
I'm new with the filter press.... its a 7" press i ran 4 gallons of syrup through and mixed the appropriate 1/2 cup per gallon ratio. Syrup was 190 degrees and the filter passed particles and tasted a little gritty as if the aid didn't come out... whats wrong?

Pete33Vt
02-13-2008, 03:22 AM
I think most of the guys might need more info? What was pressure on guage when filtering? Where your plates on the press really tightend down? Sounds to me like its a problem with the papers, you should not have had any particles or gritty taste at all. All I can think of is a blown paper.

maplwrks
02-13-2008, 06:16 AM
Sounds To Me Like You Had Your Press Put Together Wrong---make Sure You Put All The Notches Are On The Same Side.

royalmaple
02-13-2008, 06:16 AM
Did you charge the press?

Brent
02-13-2008, 06:24 AM
here's a link to the University of Vermont, Proctor Maple extension, on the use of a filter press
http://www.uvm.edu/~pmrc/filter_press_brochure.pdf

and another at Anderson Maple
http://www.andersonsmaplesyrup.com/index.php?page=instructions_and_hints

I have found these very helpful.

Good luck

royalmaple
02-13-2008, 06:25 AM
Take a look at:

http://www.uvm.edu/~pmrc/filter_press_brochure.pdf

Step by step instructions on setting up and running the filter press. Very handy for anyone running a filter press.

gmcooper
02-13-2008, 06:37 AM
Really sounds like a plate was in wrong. 4 gallons shouldn't have been enough to blow out a paper.

Dave Y
02-13-2008, 07:27 AM
GM,
When you are filtering syrup with a press you have to run the first 2or3 gal back in to you bucket that you are filtering. then once you start filterin for keeps don' t run you pressure too high. and discharge some of your syrup back though the by-pass. It will take longer to filter but you will have very clear syrup.

Brent
02-13-2008, 07:44 AM