PDA

View Full Version : Firebox/Arch Temperature

csteves
02-11-2008, 05:31 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm a new member here at Maple trader and I've got a question about evaporator temperatures. Can anyone tell me approximately what the temperature of the firebox in the average evaporator is? I think I've seen anywhere from 1300-1600 degrees Fahrenheit tossed around before, but I was hoping for some more concrete numbers.

Any ideas?

325abn
02-11-2008, 05:42 PM
HOT!!!!!!!!!!

Good question!

csteves
02-11-2008, 06:46 PM
I've seen guys with pyrometers mounted to their rigs, but I'd just like to know. Actually, I'm curious because I'm working on a project with some of the professors in the mechanical engineering department (I'm a college student) and as far as we know there aren't many places to get data like this out there, so unless we get our own evaporator and try it, then the next best thing is to ask the folks who're out there using them the most.

So, if anyone's got any input, I'd be more than happy to hear it!

Fred Henderson
02-11-2008, 06:55 PM
In 3 years of use with the mild steel that is in the arch, the metal(unprotected by fire brick) will be totally void of its carbon element and starting to burn away.

csteves
02-11-2008, 07:24 PM
Fred,

Is this why cast iron is prevalent as the material of choice for the front of the arch and the firing doors? Also, what's the difference between the interior of an oil fired arch and a conventionally fired wood arch. I ask because by visual inspection it doesn't look like there's a bit of cast iron on todays modern oil fired rigs. I'm assuming that's because they can be mostly constructed of steel but there interiors are probably heavily clad with fire blanket I'd guess.