PDA

View Full Version : sap priceing

paul
02-07-2008, 01:27 PM
can anyone tell me an easy way to figure out how much the sap i`m buying is worth

VT maple maker
02-07-2008, 04:22 PM
Im new at sugaring but i would think it would be based on sugar content and the clarity of the sap.

brookledge
02-07-2008, 06:26 PM
Usually in the Feb. maple digest they print a list of sugested prices.
Another thing that can be done is agree with the supplier on a price times the test. Like 12 times the test, so 3% would be .36/gallon.
You really need to test it though because that is the only way to know if you are buying water or good sap and likewise the supplier knows that they are getting a fair price for it.
Also like VT maple maker said the clarity and condition of it. I know some buyers will set up a price and go with it for the year but will not paysomeone the same amount if they only bring in sap at the end of the season which tends to make commercial. That way they get good sap in the beginning and poor sap in the end which averages out compared to someone trying to sell sap at the end of the year which is only going to make commercial
Keith

Fred Henderson
02-07-2008, 08:05 PM
In the recent maple digest it said that sap goes for a higher price in the north east. There was a whole chart there but one I remember was that 2 % would be .30 cents per gallon delivered to the sap house.

Dalestead
02-08-2008, 12:26 PM
I buy about 1500 taps of sap from a couple of guys and here is how I do it.
I pay 10 cents per point of sweetness ( 2.5% = .25 cents per gallon ond so on) delivered to me. I promise to take the sap from start to finish as long as they gather every day. However with the rising price of syrup I will probaly add 3 cents per gallon this year on top of the 10 cents per point.

paul
02-08-2008, 01:02 PM