PDA

View Full Version : Why i do this

Woodsrover
03-03-2024, 05:30 PM
I don't really know any of you (though I'm very close to Mike Van and its shameful I haven't stopped to see him yet), I thought I'd tell you all about something that's happened this year. This is my 9th year of doing syrup and though its not how I make my living, we have fun with it and it maintains my CT farm license and for that alone is worth doing. Its always been a family thing and for the most part we all enjoy it.

This year after a few of not bothering, my 13 year-old son declared the this year we were going to hang buckets again. I find it mostly more trouble than its worth but I decided to humor him as if he's showing interest I should probably run with it. So we hung 66 buckets this year, set up a 65 gallon tank in the back of the UTV and set our "sap line" (Using the theme of a "trap line"). The deal was he would be the runner and the dumper and I would drive. So every couple days or so we would run our line and he would lift buckets off the spile, run back to the rig, climb a short ladder and dump them in. I'm sure he didn't notice me watching but every time he'd re-hang the bucket he's given the tree a little pat, I'm assuming giving it his thanks.