PDA

View Full Version : Brix vs density

Maple dabbler
02-22-2024, 07:39 PM
I'm just a hobbyist right now collecting syrup from 4 trees at home, and I don't have some basic equipment such as a hydrometer. The standard recommendation for hobbyists who don't have a hydrometer seems to be to just boil sap to 9 degrees F above boiling, but this has proven to be very inaccurate- the syrup I'm getting is too thin. It's difficult to just go by feel because you don't know the true viscosity of your syrup until it's also cooled down, and you don't want to cool it until it's bottled.

Even the float hydrometers I've used aren't very accurate because of the syrup's viscosity causing the bulb to not quite hit the equilibrium spot.

I am trying to figure out how to measure density with a standard kitchen scale. I don't see why this wouldn't be at least as accurate as a basic hydrometer. The problem is that literally no one seems to do this- it's always measured in brix, which doesn't have a direct conversion to density. The density values I've found online for maple syrup vary from a specific gravity of 1.32 to 1.37 and don't include the temperature. That's only a 4% difference but I am worried it might be enough to be the difference between syrup that crystalizes and syrup that doesn't, or syrup that could spoil and syrup that won't.

It's just surprising to me that this isn't a common way to finish syrup.

ScottT
02-22-2024, 08:05 PM
What kind of scale are you using that measures density?

johnallin
02-22-2024, 08:34 PM