PDA

View Full Version : Tapping week after Christmas

fisheatingbagel
12-23-2023, 12:07 PM
AccuWeather is showing cold overnight temps towards the end of next week. I was planning to tap right after new years but may tap mid week. What are you all doing?

220 maple
12-24-2023, 04:42 AM
Dave,
After last Spring’s early stop I understand completely why you want to tap early, I’ve got 25 years worth of experience and in those 25 years the season has move ahead at least two weeks, the spring of 98 we started right after Valentine’s Day, we got lucky, it was a good Spring, my father based his decision to start from the guys he worked with, they was all over 3000 foot elevation, we found out later to tap the first warm day after ground hogs day, that worked for 10 years then we started tapping the last week of January, now we’re looking at 3rd week in January, what we are trapped in now,
Is season compression, it has been staying to warm to tap earlier in January. I have actually made good syrup one time in April, needless to say I’m afraid that won’t happen again, for 20 years some best runs was the first two weeks of March, the past 5 years we’ve struggled to make any edible syrup in March

GWebb
12-28-2023, 05:53 PM
Thinking real hard about it. Got everything ready - just need to drill some holes. Maybe tomorrow 12/29.

kentfamilyfarm
12-29-2023, 04:37 PM
Just finished off putting our 330 taps in today. I may be jumping the gun this year but I missed half the season last year I didn't want to miss anything this year.
I have a whole new setup and I am pumped for a new year.
We have been prepping our new property since September.
Lyon County Kentucky

fisheatingbagel
12-30-2023, 11:01 AM
Hi Dave, have you collected any sap yet?

fisheatingbagel
12-30-2023, 11:02 AM
Hi Geoff, did you tap yet? I'm thinking tomorrow if I get all my ducks in a row.

kentfamilyfarm
12-30-2023, 03:20 PM
Fish,