PDA

View Full Version : Temperature and Process for Packing Bulk Syrup

northloopmaple
11-02-2023, 11:12 AM
Hello all,

I am making lots of workflow and equipment changes in my sugarhouse for the 24 season. I work solo in my operation - no help. Last year I made 171 gallons of syrup. I have been drawing off into a four gallon pail for many years. Last year with my 2x8 boiling 8% I was struggling to keep up with the filtering and hot packing. The process has been that I mix my DE in with the first full pail of syrup that's drawn off, pull the pail out from the auto-draw off and replace it with another, carry the full one to the filter press location, and filter it into a 16x16 canner. When the canner is full at about 10 gallons, I fire it up, heat to 185-190, and pack it into stainless 15.5 gallon barrels. In the off-season, I pull a barrel, heat it to 190 in my canner, re-test the grade and density, make any adjustments I need to make, and bottle it for retail.

This coming season, as we grow, I would like to streamline that process if possible. The 2x8 evaporator is being upgraded to a propane fired 3x10 H20 (the 2x8 has been sold). I bought a 19 gallon filter press tank, a cart for my filter press, and a larger 16x24 gas canner and burner stand (which I needed anyways for bottling off-season). I'm going to use silicone milk tubing directly from the bottom fitting on the 19 gallon draw-off tank - to the press. And from there I was going to send it to the canner to get it to 185 as usual.

However...I have seen a lot of sugarmakers packing bulk drums right off the press, but I won't likely have 180 degree syrup coming out of the press with the volume of syrup I am expecting. I was getting 3-4 gallons an hour off the evaporator with the 2x8. I expect to double that with the 3x10 but still don't think it will be 185 degrees by the time it gets through the press. Especially if I am waiting to get 5-6 gallons in the draw off tank before I send to the press