PDA

View Full Version : Maple Pro evaporators

VT maple maker
01-30-2008, 10:02 PM
I was at the farm show in Barre VT today and i was looking at a maple pro evaporator. It was a 2x5 model. The pans were tig welded but what caught my eye was the syrup pan only had 3 spot welds on the partitions on the none flowing side. I asked the guy why they didnt have a solid weld on them and he seemed to think they were tight against the outside wall of the pan. I put my finger on the other side of the partition and could see it. Im still new to sugaring but even ive heard that when you allow syrup to back mix it lowers the grade of the syrup. I would think that for the price of even a small evaporator now you would get a better quality product. Does anyone on here own a maple pro evaporator, and if so what are your thoughts about them? Just my two cents.

gmcooper
01-30-2008, 10:09 PM
Maple Maker
I do not know a lot about the Maple Pro evporators but I do know that other brands advertise solid welds on thier partitions for the reason you mentioned.
Mark

Dennis H.
01-31-2008, 01:35 AM
I saw the same thing when I was up at the maple show in Oneida, NY in early Jan. I can't remember which brand of evap it was on though.

peacemaker
01-31-2008, 08:11 AM
super sappy has a maple pro 2x6 ..i would think he would know ..sounds like maybe they didnt finish the weld ... just tacked it

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
01-31-2008, 08:26 AM
Maybe that explains why they were the cheapest in the Bascoms catalog for 2008 in the 2x6 category other than the Leader WSE is that they are taking shortcuts to save money.

I couldn't believe that the Waterloo 2x6 was $ 6,000!!!

VT maple maker
01-31-2008, 09:15 AM
Brandon,