PDA

View Full Version : Young sugarbush

gmcooper
01-29-2008, 08:49 PM
I have a section of maples that are younger trees. I have been thinning for a few years and still have more to due in part of it. The ground is fairly fertile, good sun exposure and ample moisture. The growth rings on some of the thinned trees have been 1/4"-1/2". That was on the culled trees. Currently there are 25 tappable trees there now with 30 more 5+/- years down the road. Area is approx 1/2 acre curved and longer than wide. Needs a 150' section of mainline to reach the area.

My question is would you run the lines in and tap the ones that are large enough now. Or would you wait and tap 5 years from now with most all of them tappable? I made my decision in the woods today cutting brush just want to see what everyone else would do.

Before some one asks we have ample capacity to add all of them on our vacuum system. We could use the extra syrup, but we would survive with out it.
Mark

royalmaple
01-29-2008, 08:53 PM
Mark-

With that ring pump you got now, your still thinking... You know my vote.

You don't have too much tubing to put out to get them. Install the main so you can pick up the other 30 later on. So you've done the job right the first time and let them ripen up. Get their sisters online now.

jemsklein
01-30-2008, 08:09 AM
yah like matt said install the main line so all you have to do later is run your 5/16 to the newer trees when they are ready good luck

maple flats
01-30-2008, 07:43 PM
I agree with Royalmaple, do it now, the price of syrup will be up this year wholesale and therefor has to be up retail if you price it right.

HHM-07
01-30-2008, 08:02 PM
Mark
I would say it depends how old you are if you are over 75 you may want to tap them all this year. Ha Ha!!!

Dick @ Hobby Hill Maples
170taps all on line
2x4 woodfired

gmcooper
01-30-2008, 09:55 PM