PDA

View Full Version : How many taps can I handle?? Need advice

Honey & Syrup
02-23-2023, 09:42 AM
Hello and thanks for reading. I have been making maple syrup for a few years over a turkey fryer and now I took the griddle off my blackstone 36” griddle and boiling sap on that it has been better. We just welcomed our first baby boy in November and can not wait to have a little helper in the next few years. My excuse to my wife for building all this is so he can have a business when he is older. Well it’s time to upgrade, I am building an evaporator and the pan will be 18” by 48”. I will be adding ceramic blanket and fire brick to the evaporator along with a blower. I will also be adding an RO system with 3 150gpd membranes.

Questions
1.) divided pan or flat pan I am debating please guide me in the right direction.
2.) how much room should I leave for the flame underneath the pan in the arch section of the evaporator? 2 inches from fire brick. 5 inches? I want to have good flame contact with the pan but also want to have a good draft. But it will be 8 inch stove pipe.
3.) when running an RO how much water can be removed and how often do you have to flush it out? Let’s say I have 100 gallons of sap I run the RO from 8pm-5 am. How many gallons of concentrated sap will I have to boil? How many times would I have to flush the system during that run.
4.)with this setup I mentioned above how many taps can I run and not lose my mind. Only boiling on the weekends.

Answer all 4 questions or just 1. I thank you for all the advice.

Bgreisch
02-23-2023, 11:03 AM