PDA

View Full Version : whats best for filtering small batches of syrup

markct
01-27-2008, 09:24 PM
well so far i have made relatively small amounts of syrup like well under a gallon at a time. i have been filtering it thru a piece of filter paper tied over the top of a stainless pot, so about 6 inch diameter and kinda pushed down in like a bit of a cone shape, it worked ok but it appeared very slow, like the last little bit took forever to go thru without kinda rolling it around against the sides where the paper musta been less plugged. i was looking at the bascoms catalog and see all these different options, wool filters, as well as cone filters, and prefilters, whats best, or should i say what are the different applications of each, like say the wool filters? i mean it didnt work too bad the way i did it but it appeared that if i tried to do a whole gallon it would plug before finishing, or take forever maybe, i dunno im new to this and just wondering if theres an easier way! thanks you guys have been great help so far

MaplePancakeMan
01-27-2008, 10:06 PM
Markct, Well for the last few years i used both wool and synthetic cone filters from Bascoms. they can usually filter 3 gallons at a time with out a problem but like your filter the last bit takes a while. I used cone prefilters and they helped, i set 3 in to the regular cone and removed them as they got clogged, i could usually get 5 gallons through. The trick is to wet the cone first then shake it dry ... don't wring it that will rip the fibers and cause stuff to leak through.

I liked the synthetic better because the wool sometimes left fibers in the syrup, but the wool did a better job and was easier to use.

SeanD
01-27-2008, 10:55 PM