PDA

View Full Version : Propane

Paul01036
12-10-2022, 01:37 PM
Last year I struggled with getting enough pressure to run efficiently my Smokey Lake propane evaporator. I have that straightened out, I removed the regulator from the 120-pound tank and connected directly to it.

The issue was it was being downgraded by two regulators thus reducing the pressure too much. Has anyone had an issue with the brass line freezing? I had to extend the line about 13 inched to make a solid connection.

I wrapped it with insulation as an added layer of protection, but I am just curious what the general thoughts are out there.

I am a hobbyist with about 50-75 taps and will be boiling with propane 100% of the time. The tank as mentioned is 125-pounds.

thank you

Zucker Lager
12-11-2022, 12:14 PM
Your tank has liquid on the bottom and a gas pocket at the top. When you vent off gas, reducing pressure, the liquid boils off to replenish that gas pocket. As that liquid changes "state" it absorbs heat and that makes it colder. As you keep that up things will get colder and colder until the liquid doesn't want to boil anymore because there isn't enough heat available, so the pressure drops. With everything getting colder and colder there is a point where the "outside" of the tank, regulator, piping, will be cold enough to condense moisture from the air and that will freeze on the outside but doesn't effect the system inside. So a larger tank will take longer to cool down and give you more run time till pressure drop OR any heat applied to the system will help. Aggressive heating can be dangerous especially an open flame so my suggestion would be adding another tank or switch to a larger one. jay

Brien
12-11-2022, 05:11 PM
I'm not sure how many BTU this burner is, or how cold it was when you were using it outside. But you may want to buy a second 120 propane tank and manifold them together. This will ensure enough Liquid propane at the bottom of the tank is being boiled off to gas.