PDA

View Full Version : Is It Time to Tap for me?

Dennis H.
01-25-2008, 08:58 AM
Well I know it is getting close for me to tap, I am told that around the second week in Feb is the time to shoot for, but when I look at the 10 day forecast here I am starting to think I may be able to start this coming week. Now the guys that are saying second week in Feb are about 100 miles north of me, I am down near the mason-dixon line.

I attached a pic of the 10 day forecast for my area and it looks to me that the temps might be in my favor to go ahead and tap, what do you all think?
I wish I could see out longer than 10 days but if I could I know it wouldn't be very acurate. How many days of above freezing do you have to wait till you go ahead and tap?

Being this is my first year my trigger finger is getting itchy and the cordless drill is ready to drill some 5/16 holes. Seeing that we had a good cold snap here for the last 2 weeks and then seeing the warm up that is coming I don't want to miss that first good run.

I added a link to weather.com for my area, the pic of the forecast didn't turn out as good as I hoped.

http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/17024?from=36hr_topnav_undeclared

backyardsugarer
01-25-2008, 09:21 AM
I would go for it Dennis. It looks like a good run could be coming. I let an early chance in mid February go by last year and I will not make the same mistake again.

Chris

HHM-07
01-25-2008, 10:14 AM
Dennis,

Wish that weather report was for my area i would be all over them. Are you on line or buckets? It is always good to get a good stretch of weather like that at the begining of the season , agood start gets you going for the year. good luck and get out in the woods

Dick @ Hobby Hill Maples
170 taps on line
2x4 wood fired

softmaple
01-25-2008, 10:49 AM
take a look at www.accuweather.com (http://www.accuweather.com) it is a 15 day outlook. and take an average of both

VA maple guy
01-25-2008, 11:38 AM