PDA

View Full Version : sugar crystals growing in glass bottles or syrup

markct
01-24-2008, 07:44 PM
well i made a few quarts or syrup and checked it with my hydrometer and it was on the line and all, tasted great and had a nice color to it. so bottled up a few of the little glass cabin bottles and gave them to some friends.
still had a couple around and noticed that a few what appear to be crystals, are growing on the bottom of the bottles. what did i do wrong, i filtered it and then heated it to 180 to bottle it, but apparently somewhere along the way i did something wrong, will this somehow harm the flavor etc, or just look funny in the cute glass bottles. thanks guys this is my first time so im sure its somethin simple that i goofed up on!

tuckermtn
01-24-2008, 07:58 PM
we have done this also...most likely you took the syrup too far...(parker pointed out to me that after we finish our syrup, sometimes it sits in the canner- and continues to evaporate water- resulting in "heavy syrup")...like 69 birx or more...won't harm the syrup, but it means less "syrup" in the jug...and when its in the glass jars it looks like rock candy crystals growing...my daughters suck on it, but I don't think it tastes like much...

tuckermtn

gmcooper
01-24-2008, 08:26 PM
If the syrup has been bottled since last spring I wouldn't worry to much. You might have been just a tad over. If it had only been bottled a week and is crystalizing then you are way over. Won't affect the flavor that I have ever heard. Just won't look great if you were selling.

brookledge
01-24-2008, 09:44 PM
As tuckermtn said it is likely that your problem was from the syrup continuing to evaporate water off after you last checked it. That will happen. if it is exactly at syrup it will not crystalize.
Keith

markct
01-25-2008, 02:43 PM