PDA

View Full Version : Sugar Shack

Paul01036
03-03-2022, 07:25 AM
OK, I am pulling the trigger on a sugar shack for next year after this season. If you could build or buy yours over again, what features would you add. Other than going larger to account for future expansion, I would like to hear your thoughts. Being a single hobbyist, I am looking at an 8x10 or an 8x 12 built by Jamaica Cottage Shop. I have a 2x4 propane evaporator that I may buy an arch for and use wood to fire it going forward but we will see how the rest of the season goes.

Propane is handy for me as I do not have an ample supply of wood readily available to be other than buying fire wood which isn't a problem as I have a fireplace in my house but then I would have to split it again for the evaporator or a least that is my understanding.

I'd like to hear your ideas on what features you would add to your shack if you were to do it all over again.

Thanks

NhShaun
03-03-2022, 08:02 AM
I have met the owner of Jamaica cottage shop who was a great to work with. I was impressed with the quality of their work and the variety of inventory and options to customize.
I would opt for a 10ft wide building over 8ft if you can, even with my 12x16 it tends to get narrow at times. I do have a 34 inch deep counter top running the entire left side which gives lots of storage but shrinks down the floor space.

Here are some extra features i would look into having
Pulley/rope cupola opening
Extra windows for natural light
Extra collar tie support for a head tank or loft storage space
Wide or double doors for easy access and ventilation
Overhang/Lean-to on 1 or two sides for firewood/sap tanks/misc storage
Frame the rafters for stove pipe exit including proper spacings to combustibles(Much easier than cutting in later)
Don't skimp on floor joist sizing, i would go at least 2x8. I know lots of shed companies use 2x6.
Same applies for decking, Opt for 5/4 Tongue and groove boards over plywood.

bigschuss