PDA

View Full Version : Holding Sap

Paul01036
02-23-2022, 07:56 AM
Newbie here.... How long can do you hold sap. I collected over this past weekend and it was frozen last night. I plan to boil this weekend, how long can I hold it, being in New England and in the 50's today I have some concerns. we drop down tonight.

Thank you in advance!

ecolbeck
02-23-2022, 08:21 AM
Sap should generally be treated as a perishable product (e.g. like milk). In my opinion, the warm temperatures last night and today would be cause for some concern. I would look for ways to chill the sap or boil it soon. We are boiling today for that very reason.

berkshires
02-23-2022, 09:14 AM
Newbie here.... How long can do you hold sap. I collected over this past weekend and it was frozen last night. I plan to boil this weekend, how long can I hold it, being in New England and in the 50's today I have some concerns. we drop down tonight.

Thank you in advance!
Not sure where you are in MA, but most places it's going to get cold tonight, and stay cold well through the weekend and into next week. So if it's still at least partially frozen now, and you can move it to a collection container of some kind that you can keep in the shade today, then as long as there's still ice in it it's not going much above 32. A cold front comes in this afternoon, and by tomorrow it'll probably be frozen solid again.

If frozen sap has an expiration date on it, it's probably weeks or months, not days.

GO

berkshires
02-23-2022, 09:15 AM
Honestly, I think your problem is the opposite. If you wait until this weekend, you're going to be trying to boil a solid block (or blocks, if it's in buckets) of ice.

GO

therealtreehugger
02-23-2022, 10:54 AM
Honestly, I think your problem is the opposite. If you wait until this weekend, you're going to be trying to boil a solid block (or blocks, if it's in buckets) of ice.