PDA

View Full Version : Small Crowned Trees

Paul01036
02-15-2022, 10:39 AM
As a hobbyist I am excited for the season. I tapped about 25 trees and have another 25 or so to go. The issue I have is while my trees are large they are very dense thus have small crowns. I don't expect to get a lot of sap but one only knows. Any ideas out there to combat this or is it what it is and just tap more trees and get the volume that way?

Also, I have been thinking of investing in an RO, the RO Bucket RB10 seems like something I'm leaning towards, anyone out there have experience with this system? Should I build my own?

CanterburyMaple
02-15-2022, 11:17 AM
I can share my limited (2 year) experience with small crowned trees "tight" in the woods. I've tapped some fairly large trees in "tight woods" with small crowns and got <1 gallon of sap, and then some that gave several gallons. I'm sure all the usual factors are at play in terms of how much the sap yield is (soil, how much sun the crown gets, moisture levels, overall tree health, tap hole placement, etc.). From where I read here from Dr. Tim Perkins, a tree needs to be tapped several years in a row before judgment can be passed on how good of a producer it is. For me, I'm in the "tap as much as you can handle" camp, or maybe tap as many as you have taps and buckets for! But this year Im' not tapping those deep woods as I have plenty of other trees and need to scale down a bit from where I was last year.

CanterburyMaple
02-15-2022, 11:19 AM
Also, I have been thinking of investing in an RO, the RO Bucket RB10 seems like something I'm leaning towards, anyone out there have experience with this system? Should I build my own?