PDA

View Full Version : Minimum volume for a filter press? Adding new syrup to stored.

Mr. Bucketsworth
12-31-2021, 11:57 AM
I'm in my third year and run about 30 taps. I RO my sap and have a new SL 16" x 30" evaporator with divided pan. Over the summer I picked up a SL short-bank filter press with hand pump on Facebook Marketplace. My plan this year is to boil and store in stainless drums and then filter/bottle all at once. I usually end up with about 4 gallons. Two questions:

Is this enough volume to make using the filter press worthwhile?
Is there any harm in adding freshly drawn syrup to syrup previously stored?

I'm trying to figure out if I should buy several smaller drums or just a couple of larger ones.

Any insights would be appreciated - really enjoy the forum.

Pdiamond
12-31-2021, 07:52 PM
I have used my filter press with as little as 2.5 gallons. I just reduce the number of plates. As far as mixing syrup that is really up to you. If they are both the same grade it would be fine. if it's just for your own use and you don't care about grade mix it.

SeanD
01-01-2022, 07:57 AM
Good question and answer. Something in the OP caught my attention, though. You should be getting more than 4 gallons of syrup from 30 taps even with gravity/buckets. It should be closer to 8 with gravity. There's always some loss in different stages, but that's too much. Share a little bit more about your trees/collection to see if somebody spots an issue for you.

Mr. Bucketsworth
01-01-2022, 09:35 AM
Thanks so much for the reply - I actually have the extra stainless divider that allows me to use fewer plates without breaking things down.

Mr. Bucketsworth
01-01-2022, 09:39 AM