PDA

View Full Version : Renting trees

mfchef54
01-13-2008, 07:04 AM
As a newbie I'll be asking a lot of questions. What do you mean when you say renting trees? and how would one go about it?

treefinder
01-13-2008, 07:45 AM
i rent my sugar from a local farmer. i sign a 10 year lease as i have a lot of money in the woods. so if they break the lease they i responsible for repayment on lose of syrup and supplies. i pay him 0.30 cents a tap. but i think you can rent trees from the state ,(road side trees,)for 0.25 cents a tap but i don't know much about it .should contact your local DEC office and get more info.

maplecrest
01-13-2008, 11:16 AM
i wish i could rent for thirty cents a tap. i piad 40 for years, now i hate to tell you what i am paying. the best part is it runs to the sugar house. so i am not buying gas

maplehound
01-13-2008, 04:02 PM
I rent my bush from a local farmer. I pay 1/10 th of what I get for a gallon of syrup per tap. So if I get $40 a gallon then I pay him 40 cents a tap. The only terms I ask for is that they let me make the following season after deciding to ask me to vacat the woods. That justifies any repairs I make late in the season and in the post season. It also gives me a summer to take the tubing down and move it to another woods if need be. ( this has only happened once so far)

Fred Henderson
01-13-2008, 04:06 PM
i rent my sugar from a local farmer. i sign a 10 year lease as i have a lot of money in the woods. so if they break the lease they i responsible for repayment on lose of syrup and supplies. i pay him 0.30 cents a tap. but i think you can rent trees from the state ,(road side trees,)for 0.25 cents a tap but i don't know much about it .should contact your local DEC office and get more info.