PDA

View Full Version : Blower?

plummaple
01-09-2008, 03:07 PM
I hear all of you guys talking about a "blower" used in an evaporator. I have a 2X3 cinderblock homemade in the backyard. Can someone please clearly explain how a blower (fan) is used. Where do you put it i.e. in the door, in the back? does it make the fire hotter? any info is much appreciated.

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
01-09-2008, 03:22 PM
mine is home made furnace blower ducted into the bottom of my arch under the grates. it works just like a forge, gets really hot makes the complete pan boil

RICH

plummaple
01-09-2008, 03:26 PM
thank you for your reply, however, I am thinking of using a little $5 fan. If that is the case, would you just set it in front of the firebox opening. would that help the fire?

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
01-09-2008, 03:46 PM
it has to help set it in front of the draft

RICH

plummaple
01-09-2008, 04:44 PM
when you say draft, do you mean the front of the firebox? Sorry, I am really new to all of this, but I love it.

danno
01-09-2008, 07:02 PM
Yes, the draft is the door on the front of your arch, below the doors - also used to clean out the ash. I started with just a small fan in the draft door. It was in the way when loading wood and helped increase the boil a little.

I then moved to a furnace fan in the back of the arch, below the grates. I had to make the arch air tight to keep the sparks and ash inside the arch. Increases to boil alot and I'm told I'll burn less wood. Don't know about that.

This year I'm moving the fan outside duct into the sugar house. I don't like the noise of the fan as much as I like the boil

maplehound
01-09-2008, 07:04 PM
The draft door is your clean out door. You can place a small fan in front of that door and you will get some help from it. However if it is too storng I can blow some of the heat past the front of your pan making it hard to finish syrup at the front of the pan.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
01-09-2008, 08:42 PM