PDA

View Full Version : Ice hates my Sap Guzzlers - need help

randomseeker
03-17-2021, 08:31 AM
This is my first year using 'real' vacuum - Bosworth Sap Guzzlers. The pumps themselves will generate 22" deadheaded but degrade quickly in operation. The problem seems to be ice. I have very flat bushes, all red maples in water. I have run 1" mainlines (4) each with 5/16" laterals each connecting 4 or 5 trees - 400 in total. All mainlines and vacuum pumps run in the bush (generators) and pump the sap into holding tanks locally. Preseason all tested really well after tapping generating 18 to 20" vacuum. Now that the sap is running the vacuum suffers - it turns out to be ice in the mainlines that does not melt the way it does in the laterals. I have installed quick connects at the end of each mainline so that I can disconnect the pumps and the mainlines prior to the shut off valves by the pumps. Because my bush is flat I installed the mainlines with about 1% slope stretching about 300 feet each. As the first sap runs completed I find the the following morning ice has jammed the mainlines near the pump and won't melt soon enough. On a 3C to 5C degree day it may not melt at all. So now my process is to disconnect the mainlines and leave them open to drain residual sap directly to ground overnight to avoid freezing (I still don't know whether this is going to be effective yet).

1. I have tried using particle traps to capture the ice prior to the pump but I can't seem to get them to hold vacuum. Can anyone suggest a product I can install prior to the pump? This at least will reduce my diaphram wear (I have gone through several already)
2. Does anyone have a strategy for avoiding ice build up in the mainlines other than I am suggesting above?

Thanks in advance.

Ultimatetreehugger
03-17-2021, 10:23 AM
Heat tape works great for me.

Arctic Fox
03-18-2021, 11:43 AM