PDA

View Full Version : Tubes into Buckets VS Sap Sacks

Mboeselager
03-04-2021, 11:16 AM
I've been tapping about 30 trees for about 5 years. I've noticed that my sap sacks fill up better than when I use tubes into buckets. Is this my imagination or is there any science behind this (or something I'm doing wrong)?

ir3333
03-24-2022, 09:28 AM
i have noticed my buckets on 3' of tubing will run for hours after my pails on taps have stopped...sometimes for another day?
Having said that my buckets on tubing are larger trees..I'm puzzled

ir3333
03-27-2022, 02:11 PM
wow..no one else has comparative results for pails on trees as well as tubes into buckets

ecolbeck
03-27-2022, 04:00 PM
This year I transitioned from tubing to ground buckets to hanging buckets. I can’t say that I’ve noticed any difference in behavior.

Sugar Bear
03-28-2022, 08:49 AM
Here is my take on my observations that started in the early 1970's on this matter.

If NO natural vacuum is generated in the situation and all tubing is in a DOWNWARD SLOPING position. the following is true on a specific hypothetical tap.

The shorter the tubing the faster the tap will run. Spout to a hanging bucket will run the fastest in the short term.

However, the longer the tubing, the longer the tap hole will retain its flow over the season, I assume because it is not as exposed to the elements.

If natural vacuum is generated/involved the dynamics and productivity of the longer tubing changes in favor of the longer tubing such that it "might" outperform buckets over the season because the reverse pressure is created on the tap hole and even longer tap hole life is created from the reverse pressure time on the tap hole.

If taps on tubing do not generate any natural vacuum it is very difficult for them to outperform a spout to a bucket over the course of a typical season even with the extended tap hole life they may have.