PDA

View Full Version : How long does a sap run last?

bigbeef
02-23-2021, 08:36 AM
Sap started flowing (yesterday I think?) here in my corner of the woods. I’m new to this, and am wondering how long a single sap run will flow if the weather doesn’t freeze at night?

In Southwest PA the weather has been pretty cold for the last 2-3 weeks, between 4-30 degrees and never above freezing. Pretty cloudy too so not a lot of sun warmth. It reached 40ish yesterday, low 40’s today and like 57 tomorrow. But the night temperature hovers right above 32 degrees, so we probably will not get a good hard freeze.

Surely the sap will stop flowing at some point if the weather stays above freezing, right? And then needs a freeze and thaw to start flowing again?

Galena
02-23-2021, 09:06 AM
Welcome to the madness! I've had my trees run all night in the circumstances you describe but I don't think for more than a couple of nights. Means for an early morning check to ensure you aren't coming home to overflowing pails. Dr Tim Perkins, a moderator here, can best describe the freeze/thaw thing for you. But the short answer to your question about how long a sap run can last is....as long as it lasts *shrugs*

mainebackswoodssyrup
02-23-2021, 09:22 AM
There's a lot of variables there but assuming you are on gravity or buckets then it can run for a couple days early in the season before shutting off. It will peak at some point then gradually slow down. I've seen operations on vacuum pull for up to 4 days straight. It slowed overnight but kept pulling. In all cases, sugar content will decrease over the course of the run.

berkshires
02-23-2021, 10:25 AM