PDA

View Full Version : How can I identify Maples in CT in winter?

ryansclzo
02-20-2021, 07:23 PM
I'm new to this and wanted to try... but I am having a lot of trouble figuring out which ones I should be tapping. Are any of these maples? And how can I identify maples besides opposite branching? It seems like there's a lot of other trees here that do opposite branching.

Thanks!

Link to full pictures https://imgur.com/a/82txdZq

https://i.imgur.com/0SDmE7K.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/VLE1x5D.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/FOBJ2Qu.jpg

ecolbeck
02-20-2021, 07:32 PM
With the possible exception of the second to last pic, none of those look like maples to me. More like a mix of oaks, white ash, and perhaps big tooth aspen. The opposite branching is a good start but more is needed. There are probably ID resources on the internet that can help. More time in the woods helps too.

ryansclzo
02-20-2021, 07:45 PM
With the possible exception of the second to last pic, none of those look like maples to me. More like a mix of oaks, white ash, and perhaps big tooth aspen. The opposite branching is a good start but more is needed. There are probably ID resources on the internet that can help. More time in the woods helps too.

I keep reading the same techniques and half of them involve leaves unfortunately lol. In the link theres 2 photos of that 2nd to last tree you can zoom in on

TapTapTap
02-20-2021, 08:49 PM
It's hard telling from photos. But I'm going to say they're all maples. Bark can look different depending on age. Opposite branches are the tell. Maples have fine twigs at the tips. Ash look like long fat fingers. Look for a young 6 ft ash and the tips can be a foot long and might be as fat as your finger. Maples are much shorter and finer. Once you compare the two it is easy to differentiate.

Soft maples are like hard but the twig tips are more curled with noticable buds. Bark on soft maples tend to be smoother.

Sugar Bear
02-20-2021, 09:19 PM