PDA

View Full Version : Storing syrup

Kamina
02-10-2021, 04:39 PM
Hi all -

Per my previous post here I’m in my first year with all of this. I was curious as to how all of you store your syrup for longer-term storage (say a year, for example). Mason jars? Other?

Thanks all - this site is great. Excellent resource and great community.

ecolbeck
02-10-2021, 05:10 PM
We store syrup for personal use in quart mason jars. They are cheap and reusable. For gifts for friends and family we tend to use plastic jugs. For fancy gifts we use small glass bottles.

ir3333
02-10-2021, 05:21 PM
any sterilized glass containers. Actual syrup bottles are nice.
long term...straight to the freezer!

maple flats
02-10-2021, 06:59 PM
I store mine in plastic jugs for up to about 3-4 months, I don't pack more that I sell in that amount of time. That stored longer is stored in SS barrels. If you are not big enough to pack a SS barrel, use either canning jars or any glass syrup bottle. In glass, if bottled at 180+, will be good for several years. I have a few bottles that were packed 10-12 years ago, they are still good. If packed in plastic jugs try to only have them a max of about 6 months. Freezing is also a good way, syrup will not freeze solid because of the sugar %, but it will keep for over a year.

Kamina
02-10-2021, 07:08 PM
Thank you all so much for the replies. Very helpful. Much appreciated.

mainebackswoodssyrup
02-10-2021, 08:13 PM