PDA

View Full Version : My home built 2x4 with drop flue

Dwerden
01-30-2021, 07:43 AM
Been working on this for a while now. Can't wait to see how it works this year

https://photos.app.goo.gl/VDMxSiWR7Nj4CBRT8

Mead Maple
01-30-2021, 07:57 AM
You should be extremely proud! Clearly a master of your trade and a great facility to be able to fabricate in, I’m jealous! Let us know how it works, you’ll be extending it to 6’ or 8’ before you know it!

buckeye gold
01-30-2021, 08:44 AM
I'll make one suggestion. If you can I'd add a drain across those flues, you'll be really glad you did. Maybe a trough across one end and out the side with threaded fitting for a valve. I'm not good at building stuff, but I have wished a thousand times I'd have asked for a drain on my flue pan.

ir3333
01-30-2021, 09:59 AM
Why do to want a drain? Do you drain completely after each day?

buckeye gold
01-30-2021, 10:20 AM
ir3333, not everyday, but you will be draining sometimes. I guess it's just a preference thing, but for me draining flues without a drain is a pain in the butt. I siphon each one out, even If I only done it once I'd like a drain.

maple flats
01-30-2021, 10:37 AM