PDA

View Full Version : 2021 Season

Brian
01-16-2021, 08:56 AM
Well I am going to start tapping monday the 18th. I am going to start with the cold bush first then move to the warmer woods. Every thing is ready this year unlike most years. I added on more taps, changed out tubing on 1000 taps and add about 4-500 new taps. changed out 1400 last year. The thinning takes a week or two.I hope to change out the old section over at the neighbors next year. Hard to believe I have been doing this for twenty years. I wish I had paid more attention in science class, but have learn alot of what not to do, and how to spend alot of money. The kids have all left and moved on and I don't see any of them taking over. They do stop by and help a little but they have their lives. Good Luck To All And Have A Great Season!!!

Pdiamond
01-16-2021, 10:43 PM
I know how you feel my kids use to help all the time, now they are all over the place, they still help some, but not as much. I miss the fun we had.

BAP
01-17-2021, 06:47 AM
Hold out hope on your kids Brian, as they get older and settle down, they might find their way back home to sugaring.

maple flats
01-17-2021, 09:18 AM
Yes, I have similar issues. I however do have one son (and his girlfriend, and sometimes his adult son helps too) who started helping do tubing repairs and some in the sugarhouse help, until last year when I boiled solo by choice. I also have a 12 yr old grandson who likes to help.
From the time another grandson was about 8 until he graduated college, he worked with me 10-25 hrs a week. Now Uncle Same runs his hours. He has lots of leave time built up but they won't let him take much at any single time. He did come home for Christmas, he had 3 weeks off, but he had to quarantine 7 days to start, then had to use his 3rd week in quarantine back in California, quarantining on his time not theirs. As such I did get to see him, from 8-10' away as we talked out in the driveway 2x in that time span.