PDA

View Full Version : Squirrel problem- is block salt the answer?

gbeneke
11-20-2020, 06:56 PM
Doing my usual fall 3/16 line fixing with some replacements this week. Squirrels have chewed my lines to a frazzle
in some places.
Since everyone thinks this is due to a craving for salt, I bought small cow salt blocks and will put them close but not
near my problem lines. As a bovine vet, I saw cattle eat dirt and lick wood to get minerals and salt so maybe this
will help.
Interested in your opinions and will keep you posted on my results.
Thanks,
Doc Beneke

Pdiamond
11-20-2020, 07:50 PM
Hey Doc,
I take care of my squirrels with my 22. Of course it helps that I really like squirrel stew. Knock on wood I have never had them chew on anything I have had up, so far.
This will be my first year with 3/16 lines so we'll see what happens. I'll still reduce the population this fall.

DrTimPerkins
11-20-2020, 08:14 PM
We prefer to get them via lead poisoning....high velocity, copper-jacketed lead. :D

minehart gap
11-21-2020, 04:34 AM
I agree with Dr. Tim.

The problem is that there is no end of them. You get rid of 25 and there are 30 migrating to take there place.

amasonry
11-21-2020, 04:38 AM
well, it is hunting season. i use corn for bait and pick off those little buggers with my 22. a salt block might work too.

JoeJ
11-21-2020, 06:45 AM