PDA

View Full Version : Tapping Cemetery Maples

Bugsmudbooksandsticks
11-20-2020, 11:32 AM
I have been making syrup for the last 9 years as a part of my elementary school math and science program..I teach in the midcoast. I want to branch out and there is a cemetery that borders our property that has a handful of nice looking Maples.
I am sure the town will approve I am just wondering about the quality of soil and thus the trees.
Does anyone have any insight, is this a safe and worthwhile adventure or could there be soil contamination?

Thanks for your time,

johnallin
11-20-2020, 11:43 AM
Unless they're using pine coffins, I would think you'd have no issues...just don't go in after dark and run like heck if a tree says "ouch" when you tap it.

maple flats
11-20-2020, 02:55 PM
I certainly would never tap trees in a cemetary. No, I'm not superstitious, But rather because of the embalming fluids used. Not worth the risk!

johnallin
11-20-2020, 08:20 PM
I certainly would never tap trees in a cemetary. No, I'm not superstitious, But rather because of the embalming fluids used. Not worth the risk!

Might make your syrup last longer though. <grin>
Just trying to lighten everything up a bit...

Brian
11-21-2020, 03:49 AM
The sap might test 20%, no Ro needed.

amasonry
11-21-2020, 04:52 AM
is the cemetery old or still in use? some of the cemeteries around here can be almost 200 years old.

TapTapTap
11-21-2020, 05:32 AM
If the Cemetery Commission was on their game then I would expect them to reject your request for the reasons stated in these responses and others, such as whether a citizen/neighbor should be allowed to make a commercial or personal use of a Town asset. From their perspective it would be easier and better justified to just say no.

Ed A
11-21-2020, 07:00 PM
That's thinking "outside the box". You could bottle the syrup under the label "Ancestor's Best".

Super Sapper
11-23-2020, 05:05 AM