PDA

View Full Version : Syrup boiling in bottle, long time after bottling

raptorfan85
03-12-2020, 07:35 PM
I've been making Syrup for 5 years, and never seen this. I boiled in the evaporator until syrup and Drew off and filtered into a stainless pot. Came out to 5 gallons. Couple days later I brought to the house and got to density (about 15 minutes of boiling). Let that set for the night. Next day I brought it back up to just under boiling, did the secondary filtering, and bottled. The thermometer I have that's calibrated said 190. Bottled it all up. Constant temp throughout bottling. As I bottled I turned the glass bottles over in the case to seal the lids. I did the 33.8 oz (1000ml) bottles first. After I was done it was about 8 minutes since I bottled the 33.8s. I turned several back right side up and put them on the counter and they started boiling... They were not doing this upside down in the case. They continued to do this for almost 20 minutes. I took a video of it. Anyone seen this before?

https://youtu.be/z23ojDYWL2o

maple flats
03-12-2020, 07:57 PM
If the cap was tight and they did not explode I submit it was an illusion. I suspect you saw air bubbles coming to the top. But it sure does look like it was boiling.

ecolbeck
03-12-2020, 08:00 PM
That is fascinating. I have two ideas, both of which are wrong.

1. The ambient temperature in your kitchen is 219 deg.
2. Water will boil at room temperature if placed in a reduced pressure environment (a vacuum). As the bottle cools the pressure drops in the little air space at the top, and as a result the syrup boils.

raptorfan85
03-12-2020, 08:07 PM
All the lids were sealed tight. Nothing exploded, although I was worried for a little while... Only thing I could think was that because of the vacuum they were boiling at a much lower temperature. Everything was filled to the top rim of the bottle.

Bricklayer
03-12-2020, 08:15 PM