PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Syrup Exploding in Pan!

2018 newbie
02-26-2020, 10:39 AM
I've had a problem when finishing my syrup on the stove in my home. When it is boiling it seems to gather steam and then suddenly "explode" all over the stove and sometimes me! It's not boiling over, but it seems to come from the bottom of the pan and spew almost finished syrup everywhere. I thought my pan was a good heavy bottom variety but maybe not good enough. I use a calphalon stainless steal 6 quart pan. (Very small scale!). Is there a pan that you'd recommend or am I doing something wrong? Thanks for any help!

red/one
02-26-2020, 10:53 AM
As a hobbyist I have had the same issues. Keep a close eye on it and remove the pan every time it starts to "explode" or foam up. It may take a few times to settle. Turn down the burner slightly as well. A little smeared butter on the to part of the pot slows it down as well. Also a drop of vegetable oil works. Usually when it does this it is very close or past syrup. Good luck.

2018 newbie
02-26-2020, 11:19 AM
Thanks red/one - My issue is not foaming up at all ... the "explosion" comes without warning ... It's more like a volcano. I usually only have a couple of inches in the bottom of the pan since I'm only tapping two sugar maples and I keep my saps separate. It has only happened to me with the sugar maple syrup. I also tap boxelders.

Ed R
02-26-2020, 11:42 AM
It's caused by the niter/sugar sand in your syrup causing hot spots/mini explosions on the bottom of your pans when it sticks. Pre-filtering you nearup will help before final finishing.

2018 newbie
02-26-2020, 12:31 PM
It's caused by the niter/sugar sand in your syrup causing hot spots/mini explosions on the bottom of your pans when it sticks. Pre-filtering you nearup will help before final finishing.

Thank you Ed. I'll try that.

red/one
02-26-2020, 02:15 PM
I guess I totally misunderstood that one! Never had an actual explosion... :o

Ed R
02-26-2020, 05:10 PM