PDA

View Full Version : Best way to boil 40-60 gallons of sap on a weekend

Oxford
02-23-2020, 03:33 PM
I am just a backyard hobbyist collecting 40-60 gallons of sap during the week and then doing weekend boils using three propane-fueled turkey fryers. This weekend I added another natural gas fueled burner, too. I'd like to know how other small scale operations are handling similar volumes of sap with weekend boiling. How would you handle batch boiling on this scale?

Cjadamec
02-23-2020, 03:39 PM
55 gallon drum evaporator with steam table pans or a cinder block arch are the most economical ways of dealing with that volume of sap. Both are wood fired which may or may not work for you.

Next up is a natural gas rig which will take some diy work most likely. Costs can add up with natural gas and the burners to burn it.

bigschuss
02-23-2020, 05:41 PM
When I first started I was collecting and boiling about what you are. I had a nice cement block arch and a 20x20" SS pan. Something like that would easily handle your 60 gallons. If you started early in the AM, you could even get it done in one day.

woodsy
02-23-2020, 06:27 PM
I can boil down 40-50 gals sap in a 8 hr day on a concrete block type burner with a 6" deep 2' x 2' SS pan along with a 6" deep 12"x 20" warming pan.
Poured slab with 3 blocks high and 3 blocks long 20- 22" wide I think. Might take a little longer for the finishing but you get the picture. Averaging about 7-8 gals hour full tilt, stoking .

maple flats
02-23-2020, 07:02 PM
Maybe it's time to check out either making an RO or check out the RO Bucket.

Oxford
02-23-2020, 07:40 PM
I did try my hand at a DIY RO system. I only got it fully completed midway through Saturday's batch, so it hasn't been fully utilized, though. I was able to run about 10 gallons of raw sap through it, though, reducing that by 50% or so, so that was a big win. Next boil I hope to run the entire batch through, hopefully cutting that boiling time in half.

30AcreWoods