PDA

View Full Version : New Evaporatorr

TheNamelessPoet
02-17-2020, 12:39 PM
So... I've been looking into a new setup.

I'm new to the hobby itself, but I'm thinking long term because after 5 taps and 1 week I've been bitten, and like a rabid dog I want MORE.

I am about to buy a grill because it can be used dual purpose (see wife, thinking about more than me!) in the summers for when we have people over. My question is... how and where would I get a pan, or get a custom one made?

My plan is next year to get a bucket RO and the following year get a pan made for this grill. I have 13 taps atm and can PROBABLY get up to 15 - MAYBE 20 if I maxed out my lot. I can only boil on the weekends mostly but my regular grill (48k BTU is not enough) just isnt strong enough as it took about 2 hours yesterday to boil 2.5 gallons of syrup down to just under 1/2 a gallon.

long term, I would like to tap my father-in-laws trees as well so an RO will for SURE be a must!

Anyway back on point, this Is the one am getting, the dimensions are 34"×17.5". Where do you get a custom pan, or Is there a good pan already that someone can reccomend?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200217/7c82059c254122c845a5b1ba9487f7a2.jpg

Sugarmaker
02-17-2020, 01:33 PM
Check with your local fab shops/ tin knockers. They should be able to make you a pan for a reasonable amount. Use like 20 gage 300 series stainless. and make the sides about 8 inches deep.
Regards,
Chris

LMP Maple
02-17-2020, 06:46 PM