PDA

View Full Version : Cinder block evaporator design

ShaunG
02-03-2020, 01:53 PM
So I have been using this arch for several years. I recently had to move its location. So I figured I take some pictures and see if anyone had some tips on its design.

It is not cemented. It fits 5 full size chafing pans. And near the stack I put a cheaply stainless steel stock pot that acts as a Sap warmer. In the middle I place cinder blocks to take up the interior space. (Not pictured) I will back fill the spaces on the side of interior cinder blocks with some dirt and gravel. Then at the front interior block I will use the dirt and gravel to create a slope. And I line the whole thing with fire bricks. In the very front ,the fire box, I do cement the fire bricks up the sides. Finally I use a fire place grate. I use mostly pallet wood and some tree wood. The chimney also has a damper.

Good air flow is achieved. And it gets HOT, enough to melt the fire place grate.

But I never seem to get good Evaporation rate. Or at least as good as I think I should.

So what does everyone think? Any tips or advice to make it better?

ShaunG
02-03-2020, 01:55 PM
2 more photos

ecolbeck
02-03-2020, 01:59 PM
Two things come to mind
1. Where is the air intake? Ideally air would come in under the grates.
2. How much space is there between the ramp and the bottom of the pans? The space should be minimal, a couple of inches at most.

ShaunG
02-03-2020, 02:17 PM
There is a slider vent on the door, but mostly I prop door open.

The distance between pan, (just eye balling from memory. Is probably 5 to 6 inches.

ecolbeck
02-03-2020, 02:24 PM