PDA

View Full Version : Question on Use of Sweet?

pete3046
02-03-2020, 11:32 AM
I’m new to backyard sugaring and believe I’ve collected some low sugar content sap. I have 2x4 Smoky Lake hybrid, 30” divided flue section and 18” divided syrup pans which I used for the first time yesterday and have a question regarding use of my sweet. I boiled off around 120gal of sap yesterday and still did not have syrup in the final syrup pan. It was getting late and since I was out of sap, I chased the sweet through with fresh water and then drew off 10gals of sweet because I’m boiling outside and may not get back to boiling until next weekend. As a result I have the following questions.

1. Will the sweet be ok in containers in a cool place until next weekend?
2. I was going to then fill the flue section with fresh sap and then backfill the sweet from the syrup pans to get a better start than yesterday. Does this make sense?

Thanks!
Pete

DrTimPerkins
02-03-2020, 12:24 PM
Don't bother "chasing the sweet". There is little to be gained on a smallish pan and boiling raw sap by doing that. You'd be better off just boiling down to the lowest level you're comfortable with (1" or so) to reduce the amount of liquid you have to deal with.

In response to your specific questions.
1. Depends upon the temperature and upon the sugar level of the sweet. The denser it is and the colder you can keep it the better. Refrigerator (or even freezer) would be best, but buried in snow will often work. No telling for sure, but if you have to, bring it to a boil for a few minutes in the middle of the week. If it goes ropey, toss it.
2. Yes.

pete3046
02-03-2020, 01:22 PM
Thank you Dr Tim.

I was considering the run down method but decided I didn’t want to boil down the liquid height even though my wife was pushing me to do it! If I did allow the liquid to boil down, I may have also made some syrup!

DrTimPerkins
02-03-2020, 02:51 PM