PDA

View Full Version : Increasing the Efficiency of My 2x6 Arch By 80%

PaulRenaud
01-24-2020, 02:12 PM
<< This is my first time posting photos, so I apologize that they seem to be uploaded upside down. Not quite sure how to fix this, so please bear with me. >>

My arch supports a 2-part finishing pan and a dropped flute evaporator. I raised the arch under the evaporator using a 45' slope and created a 1" deep channel under the pans with a cyclone cavity about mid-pan.

I also added a flue damper and a chimney pressure & air temperature monitoring mechanism.

I haven't used this new configuration yet to make syrup, but my tests on boiling water show an 80% improvement in wood burning efficiency. Looking forward to seeing what difference this will make this spring!

Paul

ecolbeck
01-24-2020, 03:03 PM
Curious to know what the theory is for the cyclonic cavity.

I would skip the damper. It will only serve to slow down your fire which is not the point of an evaporator. The notion that a damper “holds back the heat” has no basis in reality.

Sugarmaker
01-24-2020, 03:39 PM
If you have created the magic evaporator I give you lots of credit. Making continuous improvements to our operations is part of the fun of this hobby/ business. 80% is a big jump! Usually a 5 to 10% improvement is very good. Keep boiling! And keep posting pictures too. You will get better at that the more you post. Doy you have some numbers on the gallons per hour boiled before and after improvements? I would tend to agree on the stack damper unless your burning fuel oil then a barimetris damper is appropriate. Usually any draft control on wood will tend to slow the boil rate. Wood fire needs to run about as hot as the rig will stand and not have a meltdown.
Regards,
Chris

PaulRenaud
01-25-2020, 08:49 AM
Curious to know what the theory is for the cyclonic cavity.