PDA

View Full Version : A Few 3/16 Questions

Kubota
01-22-2020, 07:55 AM
A few questions before I start tapping. This is my first year with tubing and this forum has been instrumental to me understanding things!

1. What is the tap life expectancy of 3/16 lines with CV spouts? Can I get 8 weeks of good running? It's my first year with tubing and I'll be split between 3/16 and buckets. I'd like to get an estimate on the 3/16 tap life so I can plan my season and when to tap the tubing in relation to the buckets. I'd like everything to "dry up" up together instead of starting everything together and the tubing running a few weeks past the buckets. I'm getting married in April, so any jump on the season with the tubing would be beneficial for me this year. Last year I got maybe 4-5 weeks out of my buckets.

2. Is is okay to make a full wrap with 3/16 line around a few trees in a tubing run. When I ran my lines I did a few complete wraps around a few trees to help keep tension. I believe I saw this on a youtube video somewhere and now I'm second guessing that maybe is will add too much friction and be counter productive. I couldn't justify a tubing tool this year so I had to string tubing and add in T's as I went. Keeping tension was a little bit of a battle and adding these wraps around a few trees helped a lot.

-Mike

Maplesapper
01-22-2020, 08:03 AM
We have used the 3/16 tubing, natural downslope vacuum and enjoy the results.
You can pull the tubing quite tight- never had the need to loop around trees.
Exception being the start and end of the lines.
good luck

Sugarmaker
01-22-2020, 08:21 AM
Mike,
Wrapping the tree may not be the best plan but still may work ok. Usually tight and down hill is the best method. You may wan to develop a tightening system. 3/16 and your season length? You will know after the season is over. If your on gravity only the CV spouts may not do much for you? Do you have slope to take advantage of the natural vacuum?
Keep boiling!
Regards,