PDA

View Full Version : My first attempt at small scale RO

Oxford
01-14-2020, 07:52 AM
After reading a few others post about their DIY RO systems, I decided to try it myself. This is what I've come up with. I'm just a backyard hobbyist with only 15-20 taps and I do my boiling on the weekends. I'm hoping that I can significantly reduce my boiling times by processing the sap through this system first. I will be tapping my trees in a few days and will give it a test soon thereafter. I'd be interested in hearing any suggestions or criticisms.

fisheatingbagel
01-14-2020, 01:02 PM
Looks good - keep us posted. I might have to bite the bullet one of these years and build an RO. I'm mostly concerned about storage space for concentrate, permeate and the rig itself.

How much money do you have invested so far, if you don't mind my asking. And where did you source your parts?

Oxford
01-14-2020, 02:08 PM
I have about $300 invested in this, ordering most of the parts from Amazon and picking up the rest from Home Depot. After I built this I saw something about The RO Bucket, https://www.therobucket.com/Wordpress/, which looks pretty nice and might inspire me to reconfigure mine into a more storage-friendly configuration.

I'm doing my boiling on a few propane-fueled turkey fryers. Last year I ended up with a little less than 3 gallons of syrup when all was said and done. Maybe for next year I'll work on some sort of wood-fired arch and evaporator. At my small scale I don't expect to ever recoup the cost, but it's worth it just for the enjoyment I get from it. I saw one member of this forum with a username of "$1000 pancakes" which sounds about right. :)

fisheatingbagel
01-14-2020, 02:36 PM
Ha, ha. Yep, it's about the journey!

$1000 Pancakes
01-16-2020, 01:36 PM
When I finally get my RO, I am going to have to change my name to $1500 Pancakes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jdircksen
01-16-2020, 02:59 PM